Digital ethics as a factor for success

Digital transformation is changing all areas of life – from the world of work to our social interactions and daily routines. Companies have a central role in shaping this change, and their actions are becoming an increasingly important topic for consumers. As a consequence, taking on corporate responsibility in the digital space is becoming a vital part of day-to-day business.

1. A focus on data handling

Consumers are becoming increasingly conscious of how companies handle their data. There is even talk of a crisis of confidence. Responsible handling of data by companies is thus not only a prerequisite for success in business throughout the digital transition – it can even become a competitive advantage.

2. Empowering people in times of change through education

In the process of digital transformation, what was the status quo yesterday will be utterly different tomorrow. Companies are therefore called upon to prepare consumers and employees for change through education and to get them involved.

3. Digitalisation to strengthen climate and resource protection

Digitalisation involves the consumption of resources such as natural raw materials and energy. Yet at the same time, it also offers opportunities to reduce resource consumption and thus also protect the climate. The use cases for companies in this regard are numerous: from using less paper or reducing travel, to increasing precision in product manufacturing.

4. Employee involvement as the key to success

In the working environment, digital transformation is putting established processes and methods to the test. Keeping pace with the changes requires new knowledge and skills. Addressing this at an early stage and providing employees with support is not only in the interests of those who are directly affected – is also crucial for the success of the company.

5. Promoting inclusion through digitalisation

When harnessing the opportunities offered by digitalisation, we must ensure that no social groups are systematically excluded. Companies can take responsibility here by removing barriers to access and promoting solutions to support participation.

Interested in becoming a member? Then feel free to get in touch.

Digitale Ethik wird Erfolgsfaktor

Der digitale Wandel verändert alle Bereiche, von der Arbeitswelt über den Alltag bis zu unserem gesellschaftlichen Zusammenleben. Unternehmen haben bei der Gestaltung dieses Wandels eine zentrale Rolle und ihr Verhalten rückt zunehmend in den Fokus von Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern. Unternehmerische Verantwortungsübernahme im digitalen Raum wird damit zur Notwendigkeit.

1. Umgang mit Daten im Fokus

Bei Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern steigt zunehmend das Bewusstsein, wie Unternehmen mit ihren Daten umgehen. Es wird sogar von einer Vertrauenskrise gesprochen. Der verantwortliche Umgang mit Daten von Unternehmen ist damit nicht nur eine Voraussetzung für erfolgreiches Wirtschaften im digitalen Wandel, sondern kann sogar zum Wettbewerbsvorteil werden.

2. Menschen im digitalen Wandel über Bildung mitnehmen

Im digitalen Wandel gilt: Was gestern Bestand hatte, läuft morgen schon ganz anders. Unternehmen sind dazu aufgefordert, Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher sowie Arbeitnehmende über Bildungsangebote auf Veränderungen vorzubereiten und sie mitzunehmen.

3. Digitalisierung im Dienste des Klima- und Ressourcenschutzes

Die Digitalisierung erfordert den Einsatz von Ressourcen wie natürlichen Rohstoffen oder Energie. Gleichzeitig bietet sie Chancen, den Ressourcenverbrauch zu verringern und so auch das Klima zu schützen. Die Anwendungsfälle für Unternehmen sind vielfältig: von weniger Papierverbrauch über Reisereduktion bis hin zur passgenaueren Fertigung von Produkten.

4. Mitarbeitenden-Einbindung als Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Der digitale Wandel stellt Altbekanntes in der Arbeitswelt auf die Probe. Neues Wissen und neue Fähigkeiten sind gefordert. Dem frühzeitig zu begegnen und die Mitarbeitenden entsprechend zu fördern, ist nicht nur im Interesse der Menschen selbst, sondern auch für die Unternehmen erfolgsentscheidend.

5. Mit der Digitalisierung Inklusion fördern

Bei der Realisierung der Chancen der Digitalisierung muss sichergestellt werden, dass keine sozialen Gruppen systematisch ausgeschlossen werden. Unternehmen können hier Verantwortung übernehmen, indem sie Zugangshürden abbauen und Lösungen zur Unterstützung der Teilhabe fördern.

Sie wollen Mitglied werden? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne.
bmjv.de

© 2021 Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz