Taking on responsibility together – the CDR Initiative

The Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection () launched the CDR Initiative in May 2018 together with a number of companies. The aim of the Initiative is to ensure that digital responsibility becomes a normal part of day-to-day business for companies in all sectors. Even more companies should be encouraged to and actively shape the process of digitalisation in a people- and value-oriented way. As technological developments progress, shared learning and exchanges are of ever greater importance.

The CDR Initiative

Digital transformation is permeating all areas of life and is putting established ways of doing things to the test. This offers opportunities, but also harbours risks. Only if politics, business and society are aware of their respective responsibilities will it be possible to shape the process of digitalisation and ensure it serves the best interests of citizens.

For many of us, digitalisation means having the whole world at our fingertips. Convenient, fast and in some cases even environmentally friendly. Yet at the same time, new technical possibilities are also shifting familiar boundaries, especially those between private providers of digital products and services on the one hand and the state and society on the other.

  • What data traces do we leave behind on the web every day, and who has access to them?
  • How does artificial intelligence actually work and when might the use of AI lead to disadvantages for us?
  • What rights do I have as a consumer with regard to private providers who process my data?

There are no easy answers to these and other questions that are becoming increasingly pressing in times of digital transformation. This makes it all the more important to clearly identify the opportunities and risks, and to discuss them. And this is precisely what the CDR Initiative works towards. Together with representatives from politics and business, we develop guidelines and recommendations for action in relation to digital transformation.

Digitalisation centred on people

In times of disruptive technological progress, it is particularly important not to leave consumers behind. On the one hand, this means focussing on consumers when weighing up opportunities and risks. On the other hand, it means ensuring transparency as a basis for trust. With this in mind, the CDR Initiative strives to shape digital change in a transparent and responsible way that serves citizens’ best interests.

Our members

The members of the Initiative all bring a particular commitment to CDR and are constantly developing their engagement in this area. The CDR Initiative, in turn, contributes to these efforts as a learning platform with a high degree of among the member companies.

This enables companies to learn from the shift in perspectives and the particular challenges for specific industries and organisations of different sizes, and to share best practices.

Our objectives - the CDR Code

Concrete objectives build trust. The currently sets out 15 objectives, which are organised into five fields of action:

  • Data handling
  • Education
  • Climate and resource protection
  • Employee involvement
  • Inclusion

A further goal is that of anchoring CDR in the company.

Taking on responsibility together

The Initiative

In 2018, the German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection launched the CDR Initiative. Together with our members, we develop recommendations for action for a responsible approach to digital transition.

The CDR Code

Guidelines make responsible action credible. And concrete measures make it visible. The CDR Code contains guiding principles and objectives that the members of the CDR Initiative have committed to.

Interested in becoming a member? Then feel free to get in touch.

Gemeinsam Verantwortung übernehmen – Die CDR-Initiative

Das Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz () hat die CDR-Initiative im Mai 2018 gemeinsam mit Unternehmen ins Leben gerufen. Ziel der Initiative ist es, digitale Verantwortung zu einer Selbstverständlichkeit für Unternehmen aller Branchen werden zu lassen. Über das gesetzlich Vorgeschriebene hinaus sollen noch mehr Unternehmen dazu motiviert werden, die Digitalisierung menschen- und werteorientiert zu gestalten. Mit fortschreitenden technologischen Entwicklungen stehen besonders das gemeinsame Lernen und der Austausch im Vordergrund.

Die CDR-Initiative

Die digitale Transformation durchdringt alle Lebensbereiche und stellt alte Gewohnheiten auf den Prüfstand. Das bietet Chancen und birgt Risiken. Nur wenn sich Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ihrer Verantwortung bewusst sind, lässt sich die Digitalisierung gestalten und in den Dienst der Menschen stellen.

Digitalisierung – das bedeutet für viele von uns: Die ganze Welt in einer Hand. Komfortabel, schnell und im besten Fall umweltschonend. Doch die neuen technischen Möglichkeiten verschieben auch altbekannte Grenzen, insbesondere zwischen privaten Anbietern digitaler Dienstleistungen und Produkte auf der einen und dem Staat und der Gesellschaft auf der anderen Seite.

  • Welche Datenspuren hinterlassen wir täglich im Netz und wer hat Zugriff darauf?
  • Wie wirkt künstliche Intelligenz und in welchen Fällen kann ihre Anwendung zu Nachteilen für uns führen?
  • Welche Rechte habe ich als Verbraucherin und Verbraucher gegenüber privaten Anbietern, die meine Daten verarbeiten?

Auf diese und weitere Fragen, die sich in der digitalen Transformation stellen, gibt es keine einfachen Antworten. Umso wichtiger ist es, die Chancen und Risiken klar zu benennen und sich darüber auszutauschen. Daran arbeitet die CDR-Initiative, indem wir gemeinsam mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Politik und Wirtschaft Leitlinien und Handlungsempfehlungen im Umgang mit der digitalen Transformation entwickeln.

Digitalisierung für die Menschen

In Zeiten en technologischen Fortschritts ist es besonders wichtig, Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher mitzunehmen. Das bedeutet einerseits die Abwägung von Chancen und Risiken zugunsten von Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern. Andererseits muss durch Transparenz die Grundlage für Vertrauen geschaffen werden. Beides ist der Anspruch der CDR-Initiative: Durch CDR eine verantwortliche, transparente Gestaltung des digitalen Wandels für die Menschen zu erreichen.

Unsere Mitglieder

Die Mitglieder der Initiative zeichnen sich durch besonderes Engagement im Bereich CDR aus und entwickeln sich in diesem Bereich stets weiter. Dazu trägt auch die CDR-Initiative als Lernplattform mit einem hohen Grad an unter den Mitgliedsunternehmen bei.

So können Unternehmen von dem Perspektivenwechsel und den besonderen Herausforderungen bestimmter Branchen und Organisationsgrößen lernen und s austauschen.

Unsere Ziele – Der CDR-Kodex

Konkrete Ziele schaffen Vertrauen. Der formuliert momentan 15 Ziele, die in fünf Handlungsfelder eingeordnet sind:

  • Umgang mit Daten
  • Bildung
  • Klima- und Ressourcenschutz
  • Mitarbeitenden-Einbindung

Ein weiteres Ziel ist die Verankerung von CDR im Unternehmen.

Gemeinsam Verantwortung übernehmen

Die Initiative

2018 hat das BMJV die CDR-Initiative gestartet. Gemeinsam mit unseren Mitgliedern entwickeln wir Handlungsempfehlungen für einen verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit der Digitalisierung.

Der CDR-Kodex

Leitlinien machen verantwortungsvolles Handeln glaubhaft. Konkrete Maßnahmen machen es sichtbar. Der CDR-Kodex enthält handlungsleitende Prinzipien und Zielsetzungen, zu denen sich die Mitglieder der CDR-Initiative bekennen.

Sie wollen Mitglied werden? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne.
bmjv.de

© 2021 Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz